Alfredo, Cashew Chicken and Cookies

I have tried a few recipes lately from Pinterest. They have all been pretty tasty. Here are links to the recipes and my reviews.

Olive Garden Alfredo Sauce
This was SO YUMMY! Just like Olive Garden. I loved every bit of it. I added more salt at the end to make the flavor really come out.  As leftovers it was still pretty good, but don’t be alarmed when it is a solid chunk when you take it out of the fridge, it has A LOT of fatty goodness in it. I also added some of my canned chicken to the leftovers and next time I make this I will try adding sun dried tomatoes.

 

Cashew Chicken

This turned out okay. I didn’t have soy sauce on hand (thought I did) so I used a similar sauce I had on hand with a citrus flavor added. I’m not sure if the cashews I used were raw or not, they had some salt on them already. I had to add more salt so the dish would have flavor. My favorite part about this recipe was finally learning how to properly make chicken, especially for Asian recipes. (Hint: use baking soda to tenderize.) I have another cashew chicken recipe pinned that I will try to see if it is better than this one. Of course, I will have to make this one with soy sauce to see if that improves the flavor.

 

 

Red Velvet Cheesecake Cookies
These were requested by Michael. I made them twice and I could NOT get my cookies to turn out red. They looked like chocolate with a hint of red and believe me, I put A LOT of food coloring in, almost an entire food coloring gel tube. Aside from not being able to get them to look like red velvet cookies, they were very, very good. This recipe is definitely one to make again. It’s a really good cookie dough that I will adapt into other cookie recipes as well.

 

Applesauce Cookies with Caramel Frosting
These cookies were really good. I didn’t like the caramel recipe that is on the same page as the cookie recipe because I never have heavy cream on hand, so I found another one and it was AMAZING! Unfortunately I have no idea which one it was, so I’m linking to one that I think was it or is at least similar. Caramel Frosting.

 

Last but definitely not the least because these are my new favorite…

Salted Caramel Kiss Cookies
Not much needs to be said about these, they are amazing. Go make them right now! If you can’t find Caramel Kisses (I think they may be seasonal) then Rolos would work too. The cookie dough is awesome. I would happily just make the cookie dough and eat it.

 

Leave a Reply

